Teacher in the Spotlight: Ms. Eileen Pajkowski

179

Photo by Jocelyn Chatman

Subjects you teach this year: 4th grade

Church and ministries: I attend St. Luke Lutheran Church in Dix Hills. There, I teach at VBS and 6th grade confirmation class.

How many years have you been teaching at Smithtown Christian School, and why teaching at a Christian school is so important to you and the students: I have been teaching at Smithtown Christian for eleven years. It is important to teach at a Christian School because it is a way to share Jesus out in the open with a feeling of safety.

Favorite teaching memories: There are so many! 1) Teaching the present seniors. It was the best pajama day morning ever! 2) The day after my mom went to be with Jesus, I came in to school to get things ready for a substitute. I was a bit of a mess and didn’t want my class to see me. They came in and wanted to know why I left. (On Tuesdays we prayed for my mom and other cancer patients.) They were so sad when I told them my mom had passed. I went to leave and they said, “Ms. P, it’s Tuesday, can we pray for you?” It still makes me cry to think about it. 3) The last sixth grade chapel that my class did. The theme was worship and they did it all by themselves with very little guidance from me. They were awesome and I was so proud of them!

Favorite Bible verse: “For his anger is but for a moment, His favor is for life, weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning.”  Psalms 30:5
“But as for me, I trust in you, O Lord, I say you are my God, my times are in your hands.” Psalms 31:14,15 “

Favorite music: Christian Contemporary- Toby Mac, Kutless, Mandisa, Tenth Avenue North; and music from the 80’s and early 90’s.

Family: I have my daughters, Kristen and Amanda, and my two cats, Tiger and Red.

One thing in the world I could change, what would it be? My silly change would be that the NY Mets would win 27 World Series in a row so Yankee fans would stop bragging. My serious one would be that every young lady in the world would know that she is a king’s daughter and she is worth more than she thinks.

Share something about you no one at school knows: I was once in a tour plane that flew upside down over the Catskill Mountains.

Leave a Reply

