Teacher in the Spotlight: Ms. Elizabeth Bento

bentopic

Photo by Jocelyn Chatman

Name: Ms. Elizabeth Bento (Miss Liz)

Subjects you teach this year: I am the program director and teacher of the 3 year old and 4 year old children of Happy Time Preschool.

Church and ministries: I worship at Smithtown Gospel Tabernacle

How many years have you been teaching at Smithtown Christian, and why is teaching at a Christian school is so important to you: For over 23 years, I have aspired to provide families with a quality Christian early education. It is our prayer that we demonstrate the love that Jesus had for little children and the high regard in which he held for them.

Favorite Bible verse: And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose. [Romans 8:28]

Favorite Music: I enjoy all genres of music and I am especially fond of live performances. Currently, I’m listening to Christmas music, both traditional and contemporary.

Family: I am a proud aunt of my nine year old nephew, Felix, who loves to plan adventures when I visit him in Manhattan.

If you could change one thing in the world, what would it be: Look at the youngest among us. We could learn so much from them. They are honest, motivated and always forgiving. Young children innately understand the value of cooperating and respecting others.

Share something about you that no one at the school knows: Every year, although I have no pets of my own, I love to watch the Westminster Kennel Club dog show televised live from Madison Square Garden. This is two nights of great entertainment featuring human interest stories and every canine face imaginable. The thought of all those dogs arriving in NYC checking into hotels with luggage appeals to my sense of humor.

Leave a Reply

