An Interview With Kerry Li

By Angelica Oommen
STAFF WRITER

IMG_2438

Photo by Rebecca Canosa

Kerry Li, age 17, was interviewed on February 26, 2015 in the cafeteria of Smithtown Christian School, where he is a student in 11th grade. He is extremely funny and has a great sense of humor. Kerry is from Kumning, China where he lives with his parents.

Q: What do you like to do here in America?

A: I like to eat food, lie on the bed, watch television, play basketball, and talk to Mrs. Collins, who is my host mother. That’s all I can really do here.

Q: What are some of your favorite memories?

A: I remember, in 2012, I came to America and I went to Florida with all my friends. We went to Disney World. I also love the times when my family has big meals together with my dad. He works a lot so we only get to eat big family dinners together a few times.

Q: What do you want to do when you grow up?

A: At first, I wanted to be a racecar driver, but my mom said it was too dangerous and I realized I would have no money to buy a car. Now, I want to own a restaurant. It would be great if I were able to buy a restaurant here in America.

Q: Where in China do you live? What’s it like where you live?

A: I live in Kumning, China in the Province of Yunnan. It is the most beautiful place I have ever seen. There are flowers everywhere and the weather is always perfect. It never snows like here in New York. It’s not too hot or too cold. I also love the rice noodles.

Q: What are your parents like?

A: My mother is a housewife and she is very beautiful. She can be very scary when she is angry. My dad, to me, is very successful. He knows a lot of things and he is just…a great dad.

Leave a Reply

