An Interview With Mrs. Danielle Carey

By Mary Maselli
MANAGING EDITOR

Photo by Rebecca Canosa

Photo by Jocelyn Chatman

Mrs. Danielle Carey is the Kindergarten teacher at SCS. She has both experienced SCS as a student as well as a teacher of seven years. Mrs. Carey is a very personable teacher, and she has strong relationships with all of her students.

Q: What grade do you teach?
A: Kindergarten

Q: What is the best part about teaching this grade?
A: I love teaching Kindergarten because, for most of them, it’s the first full day experience with school and I hope to give them a love for learning. I also really enjoy seeing how much they grow throughout the year. When they start to make connections and learn to read (like we are doing now) – that’s probably one of my favorite things about teaching the little ones!

Q: How long have you taught at SCS?
A: This is my 7th full year.

Q: Did you graduate from SCS?
A: Yes, I did. SCS is the only school I went to! K-12.

Q: Which did/do you enjoy more, attending or teaching at SCS?
A: I loved going to SCS… it truly helped shape me into the person I am today and I love teaching here too! There is no other school I would want to teach at!

Q: What made you want to be a teacher?
A: I always loved children and knew from when I was young that I wanted to be in the classroom. I also thought it was a wonderful career choice.

Q: Was there any one specific teacher that inspired you to pursue this career?
A: I can’t say one teacher specifically, but I had so many great teachers throughout the years who influenced my life and taught me so much, not only about how to be a great teacher, but a great person.

Q: You have taught a couple of different grades/subjects, what were they? Which was your favorite?
A: I taught 2nd grade for a few years and did a leave replacement in 3rd grade. I honestly loved each one for different reasons. When I first started teaching Kindergarten, I wasn’t sure if I would enjoy it as much as the older grades, being that the children are so young, but it has become my favorite grade to teach.

Q: If you were to choose any other career, what would you want to do?
A: I would probably have to say a wedding/party planner. I LOVE all that type of stuff and really get into the details of theme parties and the planning stages.

Q: Who, in your life, inspires you the most?
A: I have so many positive people who speak into my life, including my parents and great friends, but I would have to say, at this point in my life, my children inspire me the most. They inspire me to do better, be better, and try my best to continually grow and learn new things. I hope that I can influence them to do the same as they grow up.

Q: Do you have any hobbies, or collections?
A: Hobbies…. In my spare time (few and far between) I love to read, organize things, and binge watch HGTV & 19 Kids and Counting! The only thing I collect is quotes. I have a book of all my favorites that I have kept since college.

Q: What do you do/enjoy doing in your free time?
A: On the side I make custom chalkboard signs in all shapes and sizes that I free-write. I make wedding signs, birthday boards, pregnancy announcements, family boards. It’s a lot of fun and I love seeing the different things people come up with for me to do for them!

Leave a Reply

