An Interview with Mr. Christopher White

By Caroline Painter
STAFF WRITER

Photo by Rebecca Canosa

Photo by Rebecca Canosa

Mr. Christopher White is a passionate individual who seeks nothing more than to glorify Jesus Christ in everything he does. He is a recognizable history teacher for his determination and his heart for God. His teaching style reflects his heart, which is to impact his students and to help them be the best they can be and to set them up for success in their lives. He has a servant’s heart and puts others before himself, like we are told to do as Christ’s followers.

Q: How long have you been at SCS? Do you like it, and why?
A: I have been here for five years, and I love it. I get to speak into the lives of my students without holding anything back and by giving them the knowledge to succeed in the world.

Q: Why did you want to be a teacher?
A: I have a passion for the youth, a passion for history and a passion to see the world change. I like change.

Q: Do you like your classes and students this year?
A: Yes, I have found it challenging but I continue to enjoy it.

Q: What has been the most challenging part about teaching?
A: I would have to say it is trying to spark the minds of those that are complacent in their own lives.

Q: What is different about this year compared to others?
A: This year I have developed a routine for school, I also have learned my boundaries and how to not stretch myself too thin.

Q: What is your greatest accomplishment in teaching?
A: Out of the five years of giving the New York State Regents, I have had zero failures.

Q: What activities besides teaching are you involved in at SCS?
A: I am now the head baseball coach, I am a middle school Chaplain and I am on Undignified.

Q: What are your strengths/ weaknesses?
A: My strengths are that I am passionate as well as compassionate and I am personable. My weaknesses are that I cannot say no and I act on impulse.

Q: What are your interests outside of school?
A: I enjoy politics, sports and public speaking to all sorts of groups and people.

Q: Where do you see yourself in ten years?
A: I hope to be traveling to different countries and speaking in churches or to government leaders. I also would like to see myself on the Wheel of Fortune or Jeopardy.

Q: Can you describe yourself using five adjectives?
A: I am short; I believe I am loud, funny, sarcastic and selfless.

Q: How have you seen God working in you this past school year?
A: God has given me a vision into His heart to see students as He sees them and not how I see them. I can look through God’s lens to view His children as He does.

Leave a Reply

