An Interview with Junior Peter Hahm

By Jocelyn Chatman
STAFF WRITER

Peter Hahm is an international student at Smithtown Christian School in the 11th grade. Peter is from South Korea, but he wanted to move to the United States for a better education. He enjoys music, sports, and catching up with relatives and friends.

Q: What instrument do you play, what is your favorite genre of music, and what do you enjoy about the art of music?
A: I play the cello. I enjoy playing because the sounds from music are soothing and harmonic. My favorite musical genres are jazz and classical.

Q: What do you like most about living in America?
A: I like the American culture and the freedom. I love living in New York because of the city. Its such a beautiful place and everyone seems so free and unique there.

Q: What do you miss about living in Korea?
A: I miss my parents and I’m anxious to meet my newborn niece. I also miss my friends because I haven’t seen them in four years.

Q: How do you feel about being away from your family for four years?
A: When I first came to America I missed my parents a lot but being away from them made me more independent and mature. I eventually got used to living without them around.

Q: What goals do you hope to accomplish in your life?
A: I want to own my own engineering company, invent something useful for humanity, and help the less fortunate.

Leave a Reply

