An Interview With Kristina Reuter

By Ashley Burke
STAFF WRITER

Smithtown Christian School is filled with inspiring and passionate students. There is one student whose enthusiasm and compassion for God, her school, and her students stands out. Kristina Reuter is an 11th Grade student who is a member of Undignified and the girls varsity soccer team. She is also involved in the Spanish, English, Arista, National, and Art honor societies. She truly cares about her peers and the entire student body.

Q: How long have you been a student at Smithtown Christian School? Do you enjoy attending SCS?

A: I have been a student at SCS for 14 years. I started at preschool and have been coming ever since. I have always had the option to go to public school, but over the years it has not ever crossed my mind. I have met lifelong friends at this school and it has benefited my education as well as my spiritual life. I can honestly say I would not be the person I am today without the amazing influence of the teachers and faculty of this school. I have even made lifelong friends with teachers here that I might not have at a different school.

Q: What would you like to see change at Smithtown Christian School?

A: Being in the school for so long I have seen tremendous growth not only spiritually, but physically with new classrooms, more electives, more activities and so much more. I think that there is always room for growth and as someone who is passionate about sports that is the number one thing I would change. It would be awesome if we could improve our sports complexes and offer more options for sports. I think that it would also be cool to have more opportunities for kids to get involved in missions, not just Undignified.

Q: What is it like being in Undignified?

A: Being in undignified is almost unexplainable. It has been such a life changing experience and has made me grow so much in my faith. The friendships that I made with people are amazing. Undignified is a bunch of people with different interests, different hobbies, different talents but we all have one goal and that is to witness to people through our dramas, song and dance. Sometimes, in practice it can seem very much like a sports game. You practice and practice for so long and sometimes forget the impact, and then once you get to the missions trip or even just the local outreaches we see God move and are blown away. I cannot even explain the Holy Spirit. When the Holy Spirit falls it leaves you speechless. God is a God of healing and power. We have seen a simple drama or silly dance bring people to tears, and it is so touching to see how God is working in big ways through ordinary people like ourselves.

Q: What are you looking forward to see on your missions trip?

A: I am so excited for the missions trip. I absolutely love little kids and even if I just get to talk to one about my amazing God I will be totally satisfied. My favorite thing is to take pictures of the kids and the people there. It is amazing to be behind the lens and to capture their smiles and laughs. We often take for granted what we have and how blessed we are, and the people there are just so happy to have someone that cares for them. They are happy with simple things like kicking a ball around, playing duck duck goose, pushing them on the swings, and even showing them funny pictures of themselves. They have genuine happiness, and it is amazing to capture that. I cannot wait for what God has in store for the team this year.

Q: What is different about Undignified this year?

A: This year I have really experienced what it’s like to be “the older one.” Growing up I have always had girls older than me that I looked up to and always wanted to be around. I have noticed that the roles have been reversed and as I’m getting older, there are people who look up to me. Sometimes it can be scary because I have to always make sure that my actions are something that I would want younger girls to do when they are my age and make sure I’m setting a good example. It is cool to be able to give girls advice on things that I have gone through and to help them through the struggles they have.

Leave a Reply

