An Interview With Mrs. McCabe

By Rebecca Camosa
STAFF WRITER

Terri McCabe has been working at Smithtown Christian for 5 years. She has worked in the nurse’s office, as a substitute, and now teaches the Home Economics class. Two of her four children are currently attending SCS, and one has already graduated.

Q: Where did you go to college?
A: I graduated from St. Johns and pursued my Masters at Hunter College.

Q: When did you start sending your children to Smithtown Christian? Why?
A: In 2008; I believe in Christian education. The school they previously attended only went up to 8th grade. My oldest son graduated from there. Rather than having one attend SCS while the rest didn’t, they all switched.

Q: Why did you want to become a teacher?
A: Originally, I did not want to become a teacher. I got my Bachelors in finance, and I wanted to work on Wall Street. Someone spoke into my life and said they saw me as a teacher, rather than working in finances.

Q: What is your favorite part of teaching?
A: I just love being with you guys; hanging out with you guys. I like listening to you. I think you guys are a great group of kids.

Q: Why did you decide to start teaching Home Economics?
A: I was originally going to teach the novels class, but administration felt that based on my experience as a mom and finance degree, I would be better suited teaching Home Economics.

Q: How has that experience been so far?
A: Amazing. Just to see the students have fun doing hands-on projects and be excited to do new things whether it be using tools, painting, or cooking.

Q: What are some of your favorite projects so far?
A: I think my favorite project was constructing the coffee table. You had to think about how to properly connect the crates and place the nails so they didn’t stick out. I also enjoyed the luncheon. I saw you guys be very thankful for your parent. You all worked together.

Leave a Reply

