New Students Adapt to SCS

By Grace Rotolo
STAFF WRITER

Seniors Ian Mims and Caleb Setran. Photo by Jocelyn Chatman.

Seniors Ian Mims and Caleb Setran. Photo by Jocelyn Chatman.

SCS welcomes many new students each year, trying to make them as comfortable as possible, and get them involved in all kinds of extra-curricular activities.

Caleb Setran is a new student to SCS, and he is a senior this year. He is seventeen years old, and spent his high school career at Smithtown West until now. He enjoyed his time there, but he decided he wanted something different. Caleb has one sibling, a sister, who remained at Smithtown West.

When asked why he chose to come to this school he said, “I wanted to come to SCS because many of my good friends come here, and I wanted to enjoy my last year of high school with them. Also I came for the baseball team because they are state champions, and I hope to win again this year.”

When asked the difference between Christian school and public Caleb replied, “Here at SCS, there is prayer in school which I love and is important to me. Also, there is Bible class which I also enjoy a lot. Public school is obviously a lot bigger than private, but I like the fact that this school is smaller. Teachers seem to care more here than [in] public school, which makes me feel comfortable and happy. I like it so much better here.”

His expectations of his last year of high school is to make more friends as the year progresses and to become a baseball state champion.
Leave a Reply

