Senior in the Spotlight: Rebecca Martell

Name: Rebecca Joy Martell

Nicknames: Becka, Becks, Becka boo, Bickus, Becka-ka, and many more.

Birthday: April 2, 1998

rebecca

Photo by Jocelyn Chatman

Church and youth group: Island Christian Church and Fuel at ICC

Favorite Bible verse: Deuteronomy 29: 29 “The secret things belong to the Lord our God, but the things that are revealed belong to us and to our children forever…”

This verse is my favorite because it reminds me that while I cannot know everything, the Lord still does. He reveals to us what we need to know at the time, but the rest of the missing pieces are still in His full control.

Favorite Bible hero: I’m not sure if he is a hero per say, but Isaiah is my favorite figure in the bible. When the Lord called, he responded instantly with “here I am Lord, send me.” Even when he was told that he was being called to a people who will never truly hear his message and respond in kindness, Isaiah still served the Lord. That passion for the things of the Lord and that desire to follow Him, no matter what, is something I wish to have myself.

Favorite Christian song: The Lord Our God and Be Thou My Vision

Hobbies: Reading and singing along to musicals.

Favorite movies: Bridge to Terebithia, Fired Up

Favorite foods: Chicken parmesan, fries

Favorite school subject: My favorite school subject is history, because I enjoy learning about the common thread between past events and the present.

GPA: 3.8

College I will be attending: Eastern Nazarene College

Career Interests: Realistically, my career interests are being a social worker and/or counselor. Not realistically, I would want to be an interior designer or wedding planner.

Leave a Reply

