‘What Did You Just Say?’ Cursing Is Wrong!

By Steven Ascari

Guest Columnist

I do not curse. I never have cursed. I never plan to curse. Before I get into the spiritual aspect of why I refuse to curse, as an individual myself apart from my friends, family, school, or church, I concretely believe that cursing is one of the most immature and one of the lowest things somebody can do. As an 18 year old about to head off to college, it is almost unheard of that I have never cursed even once in my life to many, which is quite sad honestly that most think that way. Even though a good portion of those around me may occasionally throw around curse words, or if I hear them in movies or just from a stranger at the store, I don’t have the will to say that cursing is “normal and okay” and that I have no problem with it at all. I do not curse because I do have a problem with it. I call it immature because I do believe it’s childish. And finally, I do believe it’s one of the lowest things somebody can do because there’s more than one way to express frustration and despair aside from unnecessarily cursing.

One of the biggest reasons as to why I’m so adamant of not cursing is because it was how I was raised in my Christian household. Throughout my childhood and teenage years, I can only recall less than a handful of times any of my family members (immediate and extended) have cursed in my presence. I have been surrounded and raised by people who kept a clean mouth around me and because of that, I was raised without even knowing the majority of curse words until my teenage years. On top of this, my parents would never let me watch a movie with a rating of PG-13 without their approval, until I was a teenager that is. I guess I can say that I was decently sheltered as a child but honestly, I do not have any inclination to be annoyed by this. Since I was sheltered so heavily form curse words, I grew up knowing that these words are to never be said as well as never having the urge to use them at all.

Another reason for me never having the urge to utilize any curse words is because I try so sincerely to live a life just as Jesus did and a life as we are commanded to live as spoken in God’s Word. In Matthew 12:36-37, it states, “I tell you, on the day of judgment people will give account for every careless word they speak, for by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned.” and in Ephesians 4:29, “Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.” I know that God hears every word that I say, every thought in my mind, and every action I take. God commands us in the Bible to rid our tongue of any profanity and to speak in a way that not only uplifts others but in a way that glorifies Him. This is one of the biggest reasons why I do not curse and why I never have or never will. My faith in God is far too important to me just to throw it away because I can’t control my tongue and the choosing of my words.

Earlier I stated how I believe that cursing is one of the most immature and lowest things that an individual can do. The reason why I believe that is because the age in which many people began to use curse words is during the younger teenage years. That being said, a young teenage is inherently immature due to the lack of discipline and life lessons that have yet to take place in that individual’s life. To them, cursing is seen as “cool” and “mature” because all the adults do it; at least the adults around them curse that is. Many teenagers aren’t involved in the Word of God and don’t care to take it seriously because they just want to live their life how they please and later on they’ll correct themselves so that they’ll go to Heaven. This thought process is pretty immature which is why I say that even adults who curse all the time are immature in the way they express their actions and frustrations. It’s pretty sad it comes down to the only way somebody can express their true feelings is by using choice words that only shapes them into an individual that less and less people, or at least people like me, want to be around. Whenever I hear somebody curse, whether it’s in a movie or real life, it always makes me cringe and hurt on the inside because I personally cannot fathom why that individual has to curse for no reason. What’s the satisfaction in it? Why even get so frustrated over something that it reaches the point of needing to curse to begin with? For all the people around me who curse, I ache for them but at the same time I wish to be an example. I wish to be an example of somebody who shows that there is no genuine reason to curse and an example of what a true Christ-following life looks like.

Leave a Reply

